Agents of S.H.I.E.L.D: Series 2 – Episode 11

Agents of S.H.I.E.L.D – Aftershock.

Release Date: 3 March 2015

Runtime: 42 Mins

Starting: Clark GreggMing-Na WenChloe BennetIain De CaesteckerElizabeth Henstridge

Rating: 3.5 Stars

Warning this Review may contain mild spoilers

Well ‘Aftershock’ starts of more or less where we ended. Skye has been placed in quarantine, Raina is running round loose covered in spikes and Hydra are gone.

There is a brief flashback at the beginning which really does seem to hammer home the fact that Inhumans are replacing Mutants in the MCU. With a blind teleporter called Gordon, who looks like he just the special effects from X-men 2’s Nightcrawler.

For the record I feel like I’m reviewing this from a good place, I may be a nerd who enjoys Marvel (encase you didn’t notice my pseudonym) but I’m not good on the more obscure Marvel Lore, e.g ‘The Inhumans’, as a result I get a lot of the continuity nods, but can unbiased asses how accessible the show is.

The plot of the episode is so-so, like I say starting up more or less exactly where the show ended, picking up the pieces, quite literary, see cos Trip broke into pieces, (too soon?) yeah sorry about that, it was too soon.

There are two main plots going on here. Plot one finishing up with Hydra in a very final way to leave us in no doubt, “Yeah we’re done with Hydra, It’s mutant time, no wait I mean Inhuman. Damn can we try that again”.

It was a little quick, and could have been stretched out over the rest of the series, at the very least there could have been more of a suggestion that the Hydra plot was ending. That being said, it was done very well. The ploy was good and well thought out, but in my humble opinion I thought the fake shoot out was a little too telegraphed. And yes I did think that before Coulson and May got shot.

As for the second plot, it’s dealing with people’s reactions to the Inhumans, which was broken down in to four main emotions. Acceptance (Fitz), Anger (Simmons), Fear (Skye) and Disgused (Raina). Honestly of these, Raina will get over it first and Skye will come to terms with it as she learns how control her power. Really I think the most interesting dynamic will be between Fitz and Simmons.

Their relationship already pushed to breaking point, I think watching Fitz’s quick acceptance of Skype and her new powers and Simmons knee jerk reaction and wishing to destroy all powered individuals will be interesting to unfold. Although in a slightly biased way, I do hope Simmons gets over it soon, as she is one of my favorite characters and would be invited to my fantasy dinner party.

There is also a very exciting sub plot going on with Bobbi and Mac, working as double agents. Although this is where my Marvel knowledge does come in, I’m calling it now, they are double agents but not evil. Mockingbird is canonically a good guy so Q.E.D.

Going forward, I am looking forward to seeing more of the Inhumans and Cals ‘friends’ on The Index, who I’m assuming are going to be Inhumans to. On the other hand in dreading/interested to see how this works in a bigger picture kind of way. Think how, in Ironman 1 apparently No-one had noticed, the Strategic Homeland Intervention Enforcement and Logistics Division had the initials of S.H.I.E.L.D. It was played as a bit of a joke but was really because, Marvel studios had no idea how big the franchise was going to become.

What I’m trying to say in a roundabout kinda way, is The Inhuman film isn’t due out for several years, so if the Inhumans are going to be introduced in the franchise this early. So I’ll be very interested to see how it works with the film/how much the fans have to try and explain away.

Also my second point it suddenly occurred to me that Mockingbird is never a main character in the comics but does still join the Avengers, yeah she has never been called mockingbird in the show. Not even in passing like Agent May being called ‘The Cavalry’.

The show has finally learnt that it doesn’t have to spend 40 minutes giving us a detailed origin story for every villain, the fans are happy to just accept, ‘hey this dude as absorbing power’. Now they just need to learn to be less afraid of the comic origin. I’d like to see more Spandex and Alter egos, and less trying to be serious.

But overall yeah, the show is back setting up for some good stuff. I look forward to watching more.

Leave a Reply

